In depth: Winners of the ISS Design & Leadership Awards

In depth: Winners of the ISS Design & Leadership Awards

The International Superyacht Society’s Design & Leadership Awards Gala was held at Fort Lauderdale recently.

The peer-reviewed awards recognize people and companies whose expertise, leadership and dedication have raised the bar when it comes to the building and maintenance of superyachts.

Best Sail 24-40m

Aegir was designed by Rogers Yacht Design and built by Carbon Ocean Yachts.

“Aegir was competing against world famous designers and shipyards with the highest reputation and to be honest, I was delighted to have been nominated but to win was just fantastic,” said Simon Rogers, who accepted the award at the ceremony. “It was frankly one of the memorable occasions I have ever experienced, getting this level of recognition is truly amazing and I made it clear in my acceptance speech that the team at Rogers Yacht Design and Carbon Ocean Yachts were deeply honoured and we are all so proud to be rewarded for our stella effort and commitment to the project.”

Best Sail 40m
Twizzle (pictured above) was built by world renowned customized sailing superyacht specialists Royal Huisman, who also won an award at the 2011 Asia Boating Awards earlier this year.
Twizzle also won Best Interior

Best Refit
Angel’s Share, previously known as Y3K, was built by Wally Yachts in 2003. Owen Clarke Design refitted the 40m yacht in and also won an award in the same category at the International Superyacht Awards in London earlier this year.

Best Power 24-40m
NISI 2400 is the first and only yacht under 30m built to commercial RINA Charter Class and MCA Commercial (MGN 280) certification. Christos Livadas, Chairman of NISI Yachts, said: “NISI is a true modern classic, renowned for her casual opulence and charm combined with state-of-the-art technology and outstanding performance.”

Best Power 40-65m
Big Fish, the cover star of our January/February edition earlier this year, was bilt by Aquos Yachts. She also won the Neptune Award for Best Naval Architecture of all 2010-launched motor yachts at an awards ceremony just a couple of days before the ISS Design & Leadership Awards Gala.

Best Power 65m
Palladium, designed by Michael Leach Design, won her fifth award with her success at the gala.

Distinction & Leadership Awards

2011 Excellence in Innovation
Gary Markel, Operation Cruise

2011 Business Person of the Year
Dick Boon, Vripack

2011 Distinguished Crew Award
Chief Engineer Paul Doherty of the M/V Dilbar

2011 Leadership Award
Espen Øino, Espen Øino International

2011 ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award
Yacht Carbon Offset
“It is a great honour and a major milestone for the company to be recognised in this way,” said Mark Robinson from Yacht Carbon Offset. “We are elated to have been chosen as the 2011 recipient… We accept this award acknowledging the leading yacht owners, charterers, captains and professionals that have decided to balance their carbon footprint through Yacht Carbon Offset: it is their action that ultimately supports real ecologically driven projects around the world.”