Visionary superyacht design company bag Sustainable Shipping award

Visionary superyacht design company bag Sustainable Shipping award

The green-minded superyacht company Sauter Carbon Offset Design has been nominated for an international environmental award.

They will compete against six other companies in the Environmental Technology of the Year category at this year’s Sustainable Shipping awards.

Sauter’s groundbreaking designs aim to create large-scale vessels with minimal environmental impact through the use of green energy. Their Black Magic Emax Tanker achieves a 50% to 100% reduction in fuel consumption and GHG emissions by harnessing the energy from the sun, wind, waves, and currents at sea.

They have also designed a floating conference centre cum zero-carbon cruise ship which uses sea-turbines, a solar exoskeleton and a SkySail to generate nearly 50 MWs of power every day, enough to power four Eurostar trains.

The winners of the Sustainable Shipping Awards will be announced on July 7 at The Radisson Blu Hotel in London.

This year there are eight categories. The nominees are:

Clean Air Award



– Maersk Line

– The Port of Los Angeles

– Port of Seattle

Environmental Innovation of the Year NEW FOR 2011

– Bristol Hydrogen Boats Limited

– Eco Marine Power

– University of Strathclyde Glasgow

– Maersk Line

– Marorka

– Opcon AB

– SP Marine

– Valspar

Environmental Technology of the Year Award

– Blue Ocean Solutions Pte Ltd

– Cargotec Corporation Marine

– Corvus Energy

– Eniram

– Sauter Carbon Offset Design

– SkySails GmbH & Co. KG

Green Shipping Initiative of the Year


– Eco Marine Power

– Green Marine

– Rightship

– Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd

– The Carbon War Room

– Westlogistics SRL

Ocean Environmental Protection Award

– Extreme Spill Technology

– Goltens Green Technologies

– International Paint

– Thordon Bearings Inc.

– Total Lubmarine

Regional Environmental Protection Contribution of the Year NEW FOR 2011

– Pentland Ferries

– Port of Gothenburg

– VOF Amulet

Sustainable Shipping Operator of the Year

– Argonon Shipping BV


– Holland America Line

– Maersk Line

– Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd

– Trailer Bridge